Office of Emergency Services
San Joaquin County Added to FEMA Major Disaster Declaration
January 19, 2023

Stockton, CA - On January 18, 2023, San Joaquin County was added to the Department of Homeland Security, Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) major disaster declaration for the State of California. Individuals and households in the County are now eligible to apply for financial and direct services. The original declaration was issued on January 14, 2023 and included only Sacramento, Merced, and Santa Cruz Counties.

“This is the news we have been waiting to receive,” said Tiffany Heyer, Director of the Office of Emergency Services. “Individuals who have experienced storm damage caused by flooding, wind, and other storm related causes may now qualify for much needed Individual Assistance.”

Individual Assistance is provided by FEMA directly to eligible individuals and families who have sustained losses due to disasters. Public Assistance can reimburse for emergency protective measures, debris removal, and infrastructure repairs or replacement needed due to disaster-related damage.

A representative from the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) is in the area meeting with the business community through Chambers of Commerce, to both notify them of the availability of Individual Assistance and SBA resources.

A disaster recovery center will be established soon with co-located resources and information. In the meantime, individuals can apply for Individual Assistance at, through the FEMA mobile app, or by calling 1-800-621-3362. Individuals will be asked to take the following steps to apply for assistance:

  1. Take photos of the damage to the home and belongings.
  2. Make a list of damaged or lost items.
  3. If individuals have insurance, they must file a claim with their insurance company.

For more information on the process, click FEMA Apply for Assistance.



Tiffany Heyer,
Director, Emergency Operations
Phone: 209-953-6200