Senate Bill 384 was signed into law on October 7, 2017, transitioning those individuals who were required to register as sex offenders for a lifetime to a tier-based registration scheme (with 10-year/20-year/lifetime registration tiers). Beginning on July 1, 2021, those registrants living in San Joaquin County who meet certain requirements may petition the San Joaquin County Superior Court or Juvenile Court for termination of their requirement to register as a sex offender in California.
There are currently over 147,000 individuals in the California sex offender registry. The California Department of Justice (CA DOJ) estimates that tens of thousands of registrants may be eligible to petition for termination of sex offender registration statewide beginning July 1, 2021.
To learn more about Senate Bill 384 and whether you are entitled to relief, please contact the San Joaquin County Public Defender's Office at (209) 468-2730 for further assistance with filing a petition.
Petitions for relief from registration shall be filed at the San Joaquin County Superior Court, or Juvenile Court after being served on 1) the law enforcement agency where you register; 2) the law enforcement agency that investigated your registrable offense; 3) the District Attorney's Office in the County where you live; and 4) the District Attorney's Office in the County where you were convicted. Petitions can be served upon the San Joaquin County District Attorney's Office at:San Joaquin County District Attorney's Office