Skip Navigation LinksHome > Government > Counties of California

Counties of California


    Counties were first created by the legislatures of the various colonies and by the states as they were formed. The 1849 Constitution of the State of California directed the legislature to provide for a system of county and town government and for the election of county boards of supervisors. There were 27 counties named in 1850. 

    The State of California today is divided into 58 counties. These are political subdivisions of the state. San Joaquin County is a General Law County. This means the county operates under the general law of the State of California. Some counties are Charter Counties. A Charter is a set of laws prepared by the local people to reflect the needs of specific needs of the county.


List of California Counties

 Alameda         Humboldt            Mendocino            Sacramento            Shasta             Ventura 
 Alpine              Imperial      Merced      San Benito      Sierra      Yolo 
 Amador      Inyo      Modoc      San Bernardino       Siskiyou      Yuba  
 Butte      Kern      Mono      San Diego      Solano       
 Calaveras      Kings             Monterey      San Francisco          Sonoma       
 Colusa      Lake      Napa      San Joaquin      Stanislaus        
 Contra Costa       Lassen      Nevada      San Luis Obispo       Sutter       
 Del Norte      Los Angeles      Orange      San Mateo      Tehama       
 El Dorado      Madera      Placer      Santa Barbara      Trinity       
 Fresno          Marin      Plumas          Santa Clara      Tuolumne       
 Glenn      Mariposa      Riverside      Santa Cruz      Tulare