

April 22, 2022

Honorable Chuck Winn San Joaquin County Board of Supervisors 44 N. San Joaquin Street, Suite 627 Stockton, California 95202

Subject: U.S. Department of Agriculture Designation

Dear Chairperson Winn:

On April 08, 2022, the U.S. Department of Agriculture granted a Secretarial disaster designation for the primary counties of Alameda, Alpine, Amador, Butte, Calaveras, Colusa, Contra Costa, Del Norte, El Dorado, Fresno, Glenn, Humboldt, Imperial, Inyo, Kern, Kings, Lake, Lassen, Los Angeles, Madera, Marin, Mariposa, Mendocino, Merced, Modoc, Mono, Monterey, Napa, Nevada, Orange, Placer, Plumas, Riverside, Sacramento, San Benito, San Bernardino, San Diego, San Francisco, San Joaquin, San Luis Obispo, San Mateo, Santa Barbara, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, Shasta, Sierra, Siskiyou, Solano, Sonoma, Stanislaus, Sutter, Tehama, Trinity, Tulare, Tuolumne, Ventura, Yolo, and Yuba. This designation is a result of the final rule announced for the USDA Disaster Designation Process (7 CFR 759), which includes the nearly automatic approval for counties with drought intensity levels of D2 (for 8 consecutive weeks), D3, and D4 as reported on the U.S. Drought Monitor.

The California Governor's Office of Emergency Services (Cal OES) is providing the enclosed information regarding this designation. Please inform potential applicants throughout your county of this designation and information.

Sincerely,

Mole Watanahe NI®®®®WATANABE Individual Assistance Program Manager

## **Enclosure**

cc: San Joaquin County Office of Emergency Services
San Joaquin County Agricultural Commissioner
Karen Ross, Secretary, California Department of Food and Agriculture

