

United States Department of Agriculture

Office of the Secretary Washington, D.C. 20250

March 5, 2021

The Honorable Gavin Newsom Governor State of California Sacramento, California 95814

Dear Governor Newsom:

In accordance with 7 CFR 759.5(a), I am designating 50 California counties as primary natural disaster areas due to a recent drought.

According to the U.S. Drought Monitor (see http://droughtmonitor.unl.edu/), these counties suffered from a drought intensity value during the growing season of 1) D2 Drought-Severe for 8 or more consecutive weeks or 2) D3 Drought-Extreme or D4 Drought-Exceptional.

In accordance with section 321(a) of the Consolidated Farm and Rural Development Act, additional areas of your state and adjacent states are named as contiguous disaster counties. Enclosed you will find documentation that provides a detailed list of all primary and contiguous counties impacted by this disaster.

A Secretarial disaster designation makes farm operators in primary counties and those counties contiguous to such primary counties eligible to be considered for certain assistance from the Farm Service Agency (FSA), provided eligibility requirements are met. This assistance includes FSA emergency loans. Farmers in eligible counties have 8 months from the date of a Secretarial disaster declaration to apply for emergency loans. FSA considers each emergency loan application on its own merits, taking into account the extent of production losses on the farm and the security and repayment ability of the operator.

Local FSA offices can provide affected farmers with further information.

Sincerely, Villal

Thomas J. Vilsack

Secretary

Enclosure

Disaster Designation Areas for California and Contiguous States

Primary Counties:

California	(50)			
Alameda	Glenn	Marin	Riverside	Solano
Alpine	Humboldt	Mariposa	Sacramento	Sonoma
Amador	Imperial	Mendocino	San Bernardino	Stanislaus
Butte	Inyo	Merced	San Francisco	Sutter
Calaveras	Kern	Modoc	San Joaquin	Tehama
Colusa	Kings	Mono	San Mateo	Trinity
Contra Costa	Lake	Napa	Santa Clara	Tulare
Del Norte	Lassen	Nevada	Shasta	Tuolumne
El Dorado	Los Angeles	Placer	Sierra	Yolo
Fresno	Madera	Plumas	Siskiyou	Yuba

Contiguous Counties:

California	(8)		
Monterey	San Benito	San Luis Obispo	Santa Cruz
Orange	San Diego	Santa Barbara	Ventura

In addition, in accordance with section 321(a) of the Consolidated Farm and Rural Development Act, counties in adjacent states are named as contiguous disaster areas. Those states, counties, and numbers are:

Contiguous Counties in Adjacent States:

Arizona	(3)		
La Paz	Mohave	Yuma	
Nevada	(8)		
Clark	Esmeralda	Mineral	Washoe
Douglas	Lyon	Nye	Carson City
Oregon	(5)		
Curry	Josephine	Lake	
Jackson	Klamath		